Cookies: Home-made vs Store bought

If you haven’t discovered already, I am a MAJOR sweet tooth! Anything with sugar in it and I can’t get it out of my mind! A really bad habit that I have is that I have to have something sweet after I have had something savoury. I hate the habit and wish I could stop it but that might be a future blog post….

For now, I realised all of the packets of biscuits I was buying were costing heaps and disappearing fast. This new improved me has decided going forward, to bake my biscuits and sweet treats at home and will share with you the cost saving shenanigans too! I am a bake-aholic so this shouldn’t be too hard of a task!

I found a basic chocolate chip recipe online (recipe below). It made a huge batch! The biggest batch of cookie dough I ever did see. So, I split it into 3’s. One third I cooked & the remaining I froze. The cooked dough gave me 22 cookies (probably would have been 24 if I didn’t eat any). I haven’t cooked the rest of the dough yet but I am estimating it will give me atleast 30 additional cookies so that is 50 cookies in total from the one batch!

The total cost of the ingredients were $7.66. This makes each biscuit $0.16!!

I compared this with the Tim Tam’s I were purchasing which are $3.75 for 9. Nine of the chocolate chip biscuits cost me $1.44 to make. Helllooooo savings!!

13536142_10154566765129341_1446279264_n

Recipe (courtesy of http://www.chelsea.co.nz)

Ingredients:
200g butter
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla essence
3 cups of flour
pinch of salt
1 tsp baking powder
2 cups chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Melt butter, and add both sugars and cream these together.
  2. Beat in the eggs and vanilla
  3. Mix in the dry ingredients.
  4. Roll into medium sized balls, making sure the mixture is not too wet! Put on a well greased baking tray. They shouldn’t spread too much so flatten slightly.
  5. Bake at 180° for 8-10 minutes.

    Tip: you can easily half this recipe. Or roll half into a log, wrap in cling film and freeze. Cut into 15 pieces while still frozen and bake.

 

Leave a Reply

